Visiting Estonia »

Who does not need a visa to visit Estonia?

Nationals of the member states of the European Union (EU) and the European Economic Area (EEA) and any third-country national who is a holder of a residence permit of a Schengen state do not need a visa to enter Estonia.

EU and EEA member states are Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, The Netherlands, United Kingdom and Switzerland.

Schengen area consists of 26 European countries (of which 22 are EU States): Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and The Netherlands along with Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.

! Although travel documents are not checked at internal Schengen borders, it is still necessary to carry a travel document (a passport or an ID card) when crossing internal Schengen borders. Competent authorities like police or immigration officials of relevant Schengen State have the right to check travel documents if needed.

The holders of passports of the following countries do not need a visa to enter a Schengen area (incl Estonia) for stays of no more than 90 days in any 180-day period:

A Albania*, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia
B Bahamas, Barbados, Bosnia and Herzegovina*, Brazil, Brunei
C Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica
E El Salvador
G Georgia*, Grenada, Guatemala
H Holy See, Honduras, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of China
I Israel
J Japan
M Macao Special Administrative Region of China, Macedonia*, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico,Micronesia, Moldova*, Monaco, Montenegro*
N New Zealand, Nicaragua
P Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru
S Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Serbia*, Seychelles, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Korea, St Kitts-Nevis, St. Lucia
T Taiwan**, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu
U Ukraine*, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, Uruguay
V Vanuatu, Venezuela

* Only for the biometrical passports holders
** Passports issued by Taiwan which include an identity card number

The holders of diplomatic-, service- or special passports of the following countries' citizens do not need a visa to enter Estonia for stays of no more than 90 days in any 180-day period:

Armenia Diplomatic passports
Azerbaijan Diplomatic passports
Bolivia Diplomatic and service passports
Cabo Verde
Diplomatic, service or official passports
JordanDiplomatic passports
Georgia Diplomatic passports
Kazakhstan Diplomatic passports
Kuwait Diplomatic passports
Kyrgyzstan Diplomatic passports
Mongolia Biometric diplomatic passports
Morocco Diplomatic and official passports
People's Republic of China
Diplomatic passports
Philippines Diplomatic and service passports
Russia Diplomatic passports
Thailand Diplomatic passports and official passports
Diplomatic passports
Turkey Diplomatic, special and service passports
Diplomatic passports
Ukraine Diplomatic and service passports
Holders of the Laissez-Passer issued by the United Nations  

A family member of an EU/EEA/EFTA national, who in addition to the valid passport of the country of his/her nationality, present a residence card, which has been issued pursuant to the Directive 2004/38/EC bearing the text "Residence Card of a Family Member of an EEA National ", may enter Estonia without a visa, provided that the family member is traveling together with the EU/EEA/EFTA national or to the EU/EEA/EFTA national. This Directive shall apply to an EU/EEA/EFTA national, who moves to or resides in a member State other than that of which he/she is a national.


© Estonian Embassy in London 44 Queen's Gate Terrace, LONDON SW7 5PJ, e-mail: